>Sweetened condensed milk cake

>

I feel like I’m in the trenches. School has been insane, I haven’t gone to bed before 2:30am and haven’t woken up later then 7am. I’m running off of Starbucks and just pure motivation. I live in the library at school and my head feels like it’s about to explode. It didn’t help that I got two hideous colds in a row putting me on the nebulizer machine. With all of this going on I haven’t enjoyed the holidays or gotten to bake much at all. I found though tonight I had a little break, my finals are next week and I have all my study guides done and papers done so I figured I would bake something. I was organizing the pantry and I found that we had cans and cans of sweetened condensed milk, and that’s because every time I go to the store I buy some. I’m not sure why because I never use it. As I was browsing through one of my favorite blogs I found this recipe. I was so excited, I would get to use the milk and it was simple, and that’s what I need right now is simplicity. The cake is sweet and perfect with tea.
Sweetened condensed milk cake
adapted from Technicolor Kitchen
1 can (395g) sweetened condensed milk
4 eggs
1 C all purpose flour
½ tablespoon baking powder
4 Tb. unsalted butter, melted and cooled
icing sugar, for dusting

Preheat the oven to 350ºF; generously butter a (9in) ring cake pan or bundt pan.
Place all the ingredients in a large bowl and mix well. Pour the batter into prepared pan and bake for 20 minutes, or until risen and a skewer inserted in the cake comes out clean. Remove from the oven and place on a wire rack to cool completely before unmolding.
Dust with icing sugar before serving.

2 Comments to “>Sweetened condensed milk cake”

  1. >Wow I do that too! I currently have 4 cans of condensed milk in my pantry. Your cake looks perfect.mickey

  2. >Oh, I'm so glad to know you tried that recipe! Your cake looks amazing and very tender – love the beautiful Bundt shape!

Leave a Reply

