muffins

>Apple Cinnamon Chip Muffins

>

Adjusting back to regular life has been rather hard. I flew home the day before school started for me while the kids were still at camp enjoying their last week. On the plane ride home I thought to myself the kids are at the creek now and their eating grilled cheese now. Then as if I had been a daze for the whole flight I realized we had landed in Oakland and I was home. There was no way I could go back now. I slowly walked off the plane and entered the empty airport. As I walked down I saw behind a gate my parents, my mum waving at me like a mad women and my dad just smiling. As soon as I got close enough, my mum wrapped her arms around me like I had been gone an eternity but I really didn’t mind. We got my luggage and drove home. When I got home both my sisters were there and my parents had made a feast. We talked,laughed and ate. That night I went to sleep in my bedroom that had four walls around it unlike the tent I slept in all summer that had no walls and I could look out at the stars at night. Then the next morning I woke up and went to class. That’s when it really hit me that I wasn’t at camp anymore, I had to wear normal clothes, put make up on and actually do something decent with my hair. But I quickly got in the swing of things, but everyday I thought about what everyone was doing. Now though camp is over, the kids are home, counselors are traveling, and the camp has been shut down. I think it was one of the best experiences and that if given the chance to do work at a summer camp one should take that opportunity in a heartbeat. I have fully gotten back into the swing of things and have been baking up a storm. A friend of my mum’s has given us so many apples we don’t know what to do. I have made so many things but my favorite thing so far are these muffins. The apple sauce that’s in it make them really moist, and the cinnamon chips and crumble add the perfect sweetness.

Apple Cinnamon Chip Muffins
Ingredients
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter
1 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 1/4 teaspoons vanilla
1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 1/2 cups chopped apples
1 cup miniature cinnamon chips
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 tablespoon butter
Method
1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Grease a 12 cup muffin pan.
2. In a medium bowl, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
3. In a large bowl, beat together butter, sugar and eggs until smooth. Mix in vanilla and applesauce. Stir in apples, and gradually blend in the flour mixture. Fold in the cinnamon chips. Spoon the mixture into the prepared muffin pan.
4. In a small bowl, mix brown sugar, flour and cinnamon. Cut in butter until mixture is like coarse crumbs. Sprinkle over tops of mixture in muffin pan.
5. Bake 20 minutes in the preheated oven, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean. Allow to sit 5 minutes before removing muffins from pan. Cool on a wire rack.

One thought on “>Apple Cinnamon Chip Muffins

  1. >It's taken me time to adjust not being on vacation too. School starts tomorrow, but I'm not ready to say that I'm looking forward to it. I'd much rather bake up those delicious looking muffins!

Leave a Reply

