>Monkey Bread

>
I have always heard of people talk about Monkey bread and didn’t really know what it was but it sounded good so I set out to make it. I told my mum and she wasn’t convinced that it would be good for she had never heard of it. So while she was off working in the yard I worked in the kitchen making sure the monkey bread would be done for dessert. Sure enough at around 7pm I took the monkey bread out of the oven, it was a glorious sight. So we started out eating it in slices but as the old saying goes monkey see monkey do, I walked out on my mum pulling it apart saying just one more piece,so all started to do it I’m pretty sure how it got its name. My mum said though its a family staple now, so it must be good.

Dough
4 tablespoons (1/2 stick or 2 ounces) unsalted butter, divided (2 tablespoons softened, 2 tablespoons melted)
1 cup milk, warm (around 110 degrees)
1/3 cup water, warm (also around 110 degrees)
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 package or 2 1/4 teaspoons rapid rise, instant or bread machine yeast
3 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, plus extra for work surface
2 teaspoons table salt

Brown Sugar Coating
1 cup packed light brown sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
8 tablespoons unsalted butter (1 stick or 4 ounces), melted

Butter Bundt pan with 2 tablespoons softened butter. Set aside.

Make dough: In large measuring cup, mix together milk, water, melted butter, sugar, and yeast.
To proceed with a stand mixer, mix flour and salt in standing mixer fitted with dough hook. Turn machine to low and slowly add milk mixture. After dough comes together, increase speed to medium and mix until dough is shiny and smooth, 6 to 7 minutes. (The dough should be sticky but if it is too wet to come together into anything cohesive, add an additional 2 tablespoons flour.) Turn dough onto lightly floured counter and knead briefly to form smooth, round ball.
Coat large bowl with nonstick cooking spray or a tablespoon of neutral oil. Place dough in bowl and coat surface of dough with more cooking spray or oil. Cover bowl with plastic wrap and place in warm oven until dough doubles in size, 50 to 60 minutes.

Make brown sugar coating: Place melted butter in one bowl. Mix brown sugar and cinnamon in a second one.

Form the bread: Flip dough out onto floured surface and gently pat into an 8-inch square. Using a bench scraper or knife, cut dough into 64 pieces.

Roll each piece of dough into a ball. Working one at a time, dip balls in melted butter, allowing excess butter to drip back into bowl. (I found a fork to be helpful for this process.) Roll in brown sugar mixture, then layer balls in Bundt pan, staggering seams where dough balls meet as you build layers.

Cover Bundt pan tightly with plastic wrap and place in turned-off oven until dough balls are puffy and have risen 1 to 2 inches from top of pan, 50 to 70 minutes.
Bake bread: Remove pan from oven and heat oven to 350°F. Unwrap pan and bake until top is deep brown and caramel might begin to bubble around edges, 30 to 35 minutes. Cool in pan for 5 minutes then turn out on platter and allow to cool slightly, about 10 minutes. Then eat it, because trust me someone else will if you don’t.

3 Comments to “>Monkey Bread”

  1. >Great job Baking Monster. I just loved that your mother went back for another piece after not sounding keen at all in the first place. So funny. You just keep on getting better and better. Oh, by the way I have never heard of monkey bread so thanks for teaching me something new today.

  2. >I remember the first time I had monkey bread. It was about a year ago at my friend's house. Like your mother, I wasn't convinced it would be good either. But I was so wrong! Monkey bread is one of my favorite desserts now, and your pictures are making making me crave it!

  3. >oh WOW!!! The picture looks really yummy! It makes me drool. Ok i'm craving now. Thanks for sharing. It's the first time i heard "monkey bread".

Leave a Reply

