bread

>Gingerbread

>
All I can say is finals finals and some more finals. ugh. I have wanted to post a lot more on here but school has not allowed me to do that. This is gingerbread I made a few weeks ago and is really good. I dipped it in butter and then granulated sugar at the end to give it a little more sweetness and it makes the little loaves look prettier too.
Gingerbread:
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1/4 cup molasses
1/4 cup dark Karo corn syrup
1 egg beaten
1/4 tsp.salt
1 1/2 cup flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 cup buttermilk, at room temperature
2 oz knob fresh ginger finely chopped and peeled
Cream together the butter and sugar. Add molasses, corn syrup, eggs and salt, and beat until smooth. Mix together the flour and baking soda. Whisk in half the flour/baking soda mixture,then half the buttermilk, and repeat. Stir in the ginger until it is well dispersed.
Pour into mini loaf pans or 8″ square buttered pan and bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. Let cool then serve.

6 thoughts on “>Gingerbread

  1. >sometimes i like gingerbread, but it has to be moist and soft and fluffy like this–nicely done! meanwhile, as to the cinnamon chips question, it's really hit-or-miss. some stores around here (ny) occasionally have them, but i've had trouble finding them myself lately.

  2. >I wish to be totally honest with you Baking Monster. I visited recently and I couldnt read the red writing on your green backdrop. I dont have the best eyes as it is, and I found my eyes straining too much. For me it is blurry and too vibrant – Im not sure what it is actually, but I cannot read it. Hope you dont mind me being so forward but I feel I need to be truthful because I love to drop in and read what you are up to. Mariana xxx

Leave a Reply

