cookies

>Gingerbread Madeleines and a High Tea

>
I love doing high teas it brings me back to my childhood days. I did this one at the request of my grandmother and one of her best friends who has known me since I was born. They had been wanting to do it for awhile and I happened to have the day off so they came. My grandmother brought two dolls with her,very old dolls ones that I played with when I was young at her house and she played with them when she was young. I thought it was the perfect touch to a magical tea party. My mum took the day off to come and join us and it was a day full of reminiscing on old times and gorging ourselves with sweet treats. I served lemon curd,clotted cream,blueberry scones,shortbread,cucumber sandwich’s,egg salad sandwich’s, and gingerbread Madeleine’s. Also each person got their own small pot of tea it was a delightful afternoon.

1 cup flour
2 eggs
3/4 cup sugar
2/3 cup butter
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
2 tablespoons molasses
Directions:
Butter and flour the Madeleine tins. Melt the 2/3 cup butter. Beat the eggs and sugar until it becomes a white color. Add the flour, melted butter a little at a time. Mix Well. Mix in spices and molasses. Drop the batter a teaspoon at a time into Madeleine molds. Bake at 400 degrees for 8-10 minutes. The cookies came out nice and moist and with a holiday twist.

The guests at the high tea.

3 thoughts on “>Gingerbread Madeleines and a High Tea

  1. >i've never participated in high tea, or any type of tea for that matter. i'm sure it's fun, and i'd jump at the chance to eat some tasty cookies like these!

Leave a Reply

