>The search is over:Puff Pastry

>
In my high school pastry class I received a puff pastry dough recipe that worked really well, but then the recipe stealer stole the recipe and it was nowhere to be found. I searched Hi and Low on the Internet for a recipe and all I got were dessert recipes telling me to go buy frozen puff pastry to use. If you are having that same problem don’t worry because I have got you covered. I bought the CIA’s baking book because I knew they would have the basic recipes but that they would work well and sure enough I got professional results. Do what you would like with the recipe I made Apple Turn overs which were fantastic.
Puff Pastry Dough
Side Note: I use just regular All-Purpose flour instead of bread and pastry flour and the recipe turns out great every time so it just depends on what you have around. Makes 8LB.
Dough:
Bread Flour 2 lb
Pastry flour 8 oz
Salt 1 oz
Butter,soft 8 oz
Water,cold 18 fl oz
Roll in:
Butter,pliable 2 lb 4 oz
Bread Flour 4 oz
Directions:
1. To Prepare the dough, place the flours,salt, butter, and water in the mixer and blend on low speed with the dough hook attachment until a smooth dough is formed. Shape the dough into a rough rectangle. Line a sheet pan with parchment paper and dust the paper lightly with flour. Transfer the dough to the sheet pan,wrap in plastic wrap, and refrigerate for 30 to 60 minutes.
2. To prepare the roll in, blend the butter and flour on low speed with a paddle attachment until smooth, about 2 minutes. Transfer to a sheet of parchment paper. Form into a rectangle ½ in/1 cm thick. Cover with plastic wrap. Refrigerate until firm but still pliable. Do not allow the roll-in to become hard.
3. To lock the roll-in into the dough, turn out the dough onto a lightly floured work surface and roll it into a rectangle twice the size of the roll-in, keeping the edges straight and the corners squared. Then perform a lock-in which means to Place the roll-in on one half of the dough then fold the dough over the roll-in.

4. Then perform a four-fold. Cover the dough with plastic wrap and allow it to rest for 30-40 minutes under refrigeration.
5. Turn the dough 90 degrees from it’s position before it was refrigerated and roll out into a rectangle 16 by 24 in, making sure the edges are straight and the corners are squared. Administer a second four fold. Cover the dough with plastic wrap and allow it to rest under refrigeration for 30 minutes. Repeat the process 2 more times for a total of four folds, turning the dough 90 degrees each time before rolling and allowing the dough to rest, covered in plastic wrap, under refrigeration for 30 minutes between each fold.
6. After completing the final fold, wrap the dough in plastic wrap and allow it to rest under refrigeration for 30 minutes before using.

Above are our jack-o-lanterns this year,since my sister don’t live at home now we have a small pumpkin family this year, guess which one is mine.

12 Comments to “>The search is over:Puff Pastry”

  1. >Don't you hate to lose a recipe? This sounds delicious and in the great realm of all things culinary it's not hard to do. Thanks.

  2. >I just found a fail safe recipe – after using a fail only one for the longest time! It's so delicious!

  3. >I'm glad you found one, those frozen puff pastry companies must have hidden all the good recipes. 🙂 and Mary thats why I'm glad I have this website because it holds all my recipes in one place.

  4. >I recently made puff pastry with the Daring Bakers. Yours looks great – flaky and delicious!

  5. >I've just fallen in love with making puff pastry but I'll try your recipe AND those great-looking apple turnovers! Those would so go over big in my house! A great change from apple pie!

  6. >i strongly doubt that i’ll ever make my own puff pastry, so i applaud and bow to anyone who does. you are truly a baking monster. 🙂

  7. >also thank you jamie I'm sure everyone will love the turnovers its a quick little baked good people can grab and people dont need to know how many you have eaten. 🙂

  8. >Popped in from Mary's to say hi! Those look great!

  9. >This pastry recipe sounds interesting! I love making pastry. It's a keeper. Thanks for sharing. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

