>Lemon Tartlets

>
School started for me last Monday. All my closest friends have left for school and as they left I made each of them a farewell dessert. These lemon tartlets were for a friend of mine that’s going to Chico state. All though I miss all my friends dearly I have been having a blast with my culinary classes. I have GED classes too so I’m keeping busy. So busy that now I’m sick, so sick that I had to miss knife skills, at least I get to update the blog. These are the perfect size. The crust is flaky and the curd is creamy and tart, its a fantastic combination.
For Pie Crust
1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 cup shortening
1/4 cup butter, softened
3 tbsp. cold water
Set oven to 450 degrees.Combine flour and salt in a large bowl. Add shortening and butter and blend with a fork, pastry cutter, or your hands. Blend until mixture is fairly coarse. Add water, 1 tbsp. at a time, gently mixing dough after each addiction until dough forms a ball.
2. Place dough on a lightly floured surface and roll out 1/4 inch thick. Using a shot glass size cookie cutter, cut out dough and put into mini muffin tins.Press down into the center but make sure dough doesn’t break. Put beans or a marble into each tartlet. Bake for about 15 minutes or until golden.
Lemon curd
4 large egg yolks
2 large eggs
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup fresh lemon juice
Pinch of salt
For lemon curd:
Whisk egg yolks, whole eggs, sugar, lemon juice, and salt to blend in top of double boiler over barely simmering water (do not allow bowl to touch water); whisk constantly until mixture thickens and instant-read thermometer registers 160°F, about 6 minutes. Transfer to glass bowl; place plastic wrap directly on surface; refrigerate 40 minutes.
Assemble:
After lemon curd has been chilled put a teaspoons worth of lemon curd in each tartlet. Refrigerate until ready to eat.

One Comment to “>Lemon Tartlets”

  1. >i get so tickled by the word "curd." however, that doesn't deter me from loving these little bites of heaven–they're gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

