bite-size · cupcakes

>Mini Matcha Cupcakes

>
Yes I have joined the craze for Matcha baked goods. I couldn’t help myself and with all my mini liners I couldnt resist, so I made minis but you could make them regular size. These are really tasty. I’m leaving for high school camp with my church tomorrow morning at 5 am so I won’t be on for a week. It will be somewhere in LA so I’m excited but I decided I needed to leave something fresh on my page before I leave. So there you go enjoy.

Makes 24 cupcakes
INGREDIENTS
Cupcakes
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon matcha
1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
1 cup buttermilk, room temperature
2 large eggs, room temperature
1 tablespoon green food coloring(optional)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Whipped cream frosting
8 oz heavy whipping cream
sugar (however much you want)
1 teaspoon of matcha
DIRECTIONS
To make cupcakes: Preheat the oven to 350° F. Line 2 (12-cup) muffin pans with cupcake papers or mini ones like I did.
In a medium mixing bowl, sift together the flour, sugar, baking soda,salt, and matcha. In a different bowl mix together the oil, buttermilk, eggs, food coloring, and vanilla. Add the sifted dry ingredients to the wet and mix until smooth and thoroughly combined. Then fill cups 3/4 of the way full and put in the oven for 20 minutes,test with tooth pick,then let cool.
Frosting
Put the cream, mathca and sugar in a mixing bowl whip until stiff peak forms. Put in a bag with tip of choice and decorated cupcakes.

7 thoughts on “>Mini Matcha Cupcakes

  1. >I love matcha desserts. I made a coconut and match cake that continues to be a highly visited post. Seeing your cupckae makes me want to make more matcha desserts. Lovely job!

  2. >Yeah, I'm a sucker for matcha and I don't even drink that much green tea. Cute cupcakes, I especially like the little star of frosting. Hope you have a nice time at camp!

  3. >Great recipe — I just tried this and I'm going to use it for my friend's wedding cupcakes!I was wondering: Do you know why matcha baked goods lose their green colour over time? I tried making these cupcakes and another recipe once without green food colouring. The batter and the freshly baked batch were bright green, but eventually turned to an earthy tan. Is there a way to keep the green colour without using food colouring?

  4. >I'm glad you like it. I have actually done research and haven't been able to find why it does that and how to prevent it. I find it strange that it does that because it is often advertised as a natural dye, yet it doesn't hold its color. If you find anything out I would be curious to know, sorry that I couldn't help.

Leave a Reply

