>Lemon Twist Bread

>
I was intrigued when I saw this recipe lemon and bread?I’m in! This is a yeasted bread so it does take a bit longer then just a quick bread but oh man it is well worth the wait. Be warned though that I didn’t have dry milk so I substituted with regular milk which made it have to much liquid so I put more flour in and then more sugar but I didn’t measure at all so I guess I’m not much help if you don’t have dry milk.
I.
1 cup of lukewarm water
3 1/2 teaspoons of dry yeast
3 tablespoons of sugar
1/3 cup of dry milk
1 egg
1 1/2 cups of flour
II.
3 tablespoons of oil
1 1/4 teaspoons of salt
1 cup of sifted flour
1/2 to 3/4 for kneading
III.
3 tablespoons of lemon juice
1/2 cup of raisins

Dissolve yeast in water. Stir in sugar and dry milk.Stir in egg. Stir in 1 1/1 cups of flour until a thick batter forms, then beat well with a spoon. Let rise for 30 minutes. Fold in oil and salt. Fold in 1 cup of flour until dough comes away from the bowl. Then stir in the lemon juice and raisins. Knead on a floured work surface, using more flour as needed to keep the dough from sticking to the surface.Knead for 5 minutes or until smooth. Then divide into strands for bread. This site shows you how to do it. Once done braiding it place the loaf on a cookie sheet with parchment paper.Brush with egg wash and then put it in the oven for 350 degrees for 40 minutes. Then frost with powder sugar glaze.(I put glaze on two loaves and left the other two as is. Both were great)

7 Comments to “>Lemon Twist Bread”

  1. >It looks beautiful.

  2. >Wow, I'm impressed! I'm way too scared to try bread but yours looks so, so good! I might have to try this!

  3. >Wow, rarely have a seen a loaf of bread that looks so soft and fluffy inside. I can only imagine how tasty it is!

  4. >what a great bread! it's definitely fluffy like a cloud, which is an unexpected surprise! and for me, the glaze is what makes it sensational. great job!

  5. >If it tastes as good as it looks it is wonderful in my mind.Iris

  6. >Congrats Baking Monster. Yeasted breads are enough to scare away the average adult, so bravo for having a go and for achieving such excellent results. Well Done!!

  7. >ooh, i totally LOVE lemon and yeast breads, so together i'm sure this is a winner.

Leave a Reply

