cookies

>Homemade Oreos

>
After visiting Bouchon Bakery a few weeks ago and trying Thomas Kellers Oreos I was inspired to try it myself. To tell you the truth I was surprised the cookies turned out so well. I used a classic Sable cookie recipe and halved a confectioner sugar frosting recipes and the results were great!My family said that it tasted almost exactly like TKO, which made me very happy. Also yesterday I did my senior project presentation I’m not sure the score yet but I got a certificate saying I could graduate now which is a amazing feeling,so I’m happy anyways.
Here’s the recipes:
Ingredients
3 ounces bittersweet chocolate, frozen for 10 minutes
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup Dutch-process cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
5 1/4 ounces (11 tablespoons) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 large egg yolk
Directions
Grate the chilled chocolate with a fine grater or rasp and set aside.
Whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and sea salt.
Beat the butter and sugar in a medium bowl with an electric mixer until just combined. Mix in the yolk. Add the dry ingredients to the butter and beat lightly together until just combined but still crumbly. Fold in grated chocolate with a spatula. Bring the dough together by lightly squeezing in your hands; but don’t knead or overwork, as the secret to these cookies is their delicate, sandy texture.
Form dough into a ball and wrap in plastic wrap put in fridge for at least 1 hour.
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.
Once cookie dough is chilled roll out and using a biscuit cutter cut circles out and lay on cookie sheets.
Bake until cookies smell fragrant with a full cocoa aroma and set on the outside, about 12 to 14 minutes. Remove from the oven and let cool on the pans, about 5 minutes.
Transfer cookies to a rack to cool completely.
For the filling:
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) room-temperature, unsalted butter
1 cup sifted confectioners’ sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Mix all ingredients together then with a butter knife spread onto to one cookie and sandwich with another cookie.

Get a nice glass of milk and enjoy!


Oreo Cake on Foodista

6 thoughts on “>Homemade Oreos

  1. >very impressive! i have to confess–oreos are one thing that i’ll probably always buy instead of make–the storebought ones are just so darn good (and easy)!

  2. >Hey….just wanted to let you know, I check your blog daily to see what recipes you’ve come up with. Love what your doing ! My daughter can’t wait to try these out…she’s an oreo junkie 🙂 Keep up the great work!

  3. >It must be so exciting to be graduating! I’m only a junior and I already have senioritis. These cookies look so good. I don’t actually like storebought oreos but these I think I’d enjoy.

Leave a Reply

