breakfast · muffins

>Poppy Seed Muffins with Lemon Glaze

>
SO I think I can happily say I have caught up on sleep. I haven’t posted in the last week because I had Bear test which is a 24 hour test for 3 days it’s hard to explain but it was super fun and I got really bruised, then the day after that was my prom and it was in the city so we stayed over night then the next day was my cousins graduation and now I sit here after a good long mid day nap. Tomorrow senior ditch day and were going to the beach so considering I have been rather busy I decided I needed to bake. So I made these muffins and there everything I dreamed this muffin could be, I use to buy them at a local cafe but these are so much better because there fresh!
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar, plus 1 teaspoon for sprinkling
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 egg, lightly beaten
3/4 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1 tablespoon poppy seeds

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease a standard 12-well muffin pan or a jumbo 6-well muffin pan.

Sift together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into a large mixing bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg, buttermilk, and lemon juice.

Make a well in center of the flour mixture and pour the buttermilk mixture into the well. Add the melted butter and use a rubber spatula to blend with quick strokes, being careful not over mix the batter; it should still be slightly lumpy. Gently stir in the poppy seeds and lemon zest.

Spoon batter into the prepared muffin pan, filling each well 3/4 full. Bake until slightly puffed and golden, 20 to 22 minutes. Cooking time may be a little longer if you are baking jumbo-sized muffins. Lightly sprinkle sugar over the tops of the muffins, if desired. Remove the muffins from the pan and cool slightly on a wire rack. Once cooled drizzle a spoonful of glaze on top of muffin.

Glaze:
Mix the sugar and the juice together until fully combined.
1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice

I’m going to the beach now(it’s tuesday my posting got messed up.)for Senior Ditch day bye.
Orange and Poppy Seed Cupcakes With Passionfruit Butter Cream on Foodista

3 thoughts on “>Poppy Seed Muffins with Lemon Glaze

  1. >Wow you sound like you have been a busy little beaver. Your prom. How exciting. I have to say these look absolutely gorgeous. You seem to have just the right amount of poppy seeds and the muffin looks light and fluffy. Who needs a baker when you can make these? Well done.

  2. >Nice recipe & good to see you back 🙂 I was wondering what has kept you away… My youngest son just graduated HS as well congrats to you and all of your accomplishments! I was just talking to my hubby about lemon poppyseed muffins! Can't wait to try these this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

