Rediscovering (Cinnamon Chip Pumpkin Ice Cream)

The dark night sky had a sprinkling of twinkling stars. In the distance a star shoots across the somber sky. A white owl hoots on a nearby fence post, while a jack rabbit scampers across the curvy road. The thick smell of manure wafts through the heater of the car as I gulp down hot tea.
IMG_8325
Every year growing up I connected fall to Halloween. I would have a huge Halloween party every year with an awesome haunted house. Our house was that Halloween house. Since starting college though most friends had moved away and I to moved away from that tradition. I just all together stopped celebrating the holiday, it was too disappointing. Each Halloween night I would get an uneasy feeling as I saw posts of old friends going out on the town or partying it up. I would pass out candy to the little kids but in all honesty eat more of it. Halloween had gone from being the most anticipated holiday to can’t waiting for it to be over.

This Year though I too have moved away from home where all those traditions once happened. I have moved about 3 hours away from my hometown to attend college. It’s very much a college town. The college is right next to the downtown which makes it easy to get around on bike. Transitioning to a new life here in this town was strange for me not just because it’s a whole new place but because all my friends are moving home at this point. This year though all my friends that have moved home from college are coming to stay with and visit me for Halloween. It’s the first time I get to host a Halloween in my own home as an adult”. The concept is exciting and strange. I’m starting to turn around the idea of what Halloween is and I hope to make new traditions this year and rediscover Halloween.
IMG_8327
One of my favorite seasons is fall. When the leaves on the vineyards turn to a robust orange, yellow, and red. When all the animals start to gather food for the winter ahead and go into hibernation and the only creatures on the early morning roads are owls. When I can start wearing knit sweaters and boots. When crisp leaves are lying on every street, ready to be stepped on. When Starbucks gets in their seasonal drinks. When I get to create delicious fall desserts. Like this easy Pumpkin Ice Cream. To be honest it’s still 90 degrees where I live now and probably will be in the mid 80′s when Halloween comes.
Update: I started this post in October a few years ago and I just didn’t have time to get back to it until now. I was going to scarp it and put a new recipe up with a new story but I love this recipe and the story with it. I feel the post of Rediscovering really goes for the last few months for me; in that I’m rediscovering life from a new vantage point. It’s been a long road but I truly believe everything happens for a reason. Thanks for waiting for me to post.
IMG_8333
Cinnamon Chip Pumpkin Ice Cream
1 pt. whipping cream
1/2 c. milk
1 c packed light brown sugar
1 c of pumpkin puree
1 tsp. ground ginger
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 c cinnamon chips

1. whisk all ingredients except cinnamon chips in a bowl to blend. Strain into an ice cream maker and freeze according to manufactures directions.
2. Scrape ice cream into a bowl and stir in cinnamon chips. Freeze, covered until scoopable. Enjoy!

3 Comments to “Rediscovering (Cinnamon Chip Pumpkin Ice Cream)”

  1. This sounds amazing! I’m adding making this ice cream to my list o’ things to do this weekend.

  2. Becca! You’re back! I’ve missed reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

