Sweet and Sour(Key Lime Drop Cookies)

I sat silently on a train fully realizing what I had done. My eyes darted around the train to find a familiar face, but there was no such luck. I gingerly untangled my iPod headphones and for the 2 hour train ride sat uncomfortable and starving. A few months earlier I had decided on working at a camp in New York. It sounded like a great new adventure, and what better way to spend the summer. Now though sitting on this cold train all the way across the country from what I knew, was quite scary. I knew there was no turning back.
Once the train arrived at my stop, I dragged my luggage through the crowds of people. I was a bit shaky from being in this new place, but also because I was starving. As I pushed my way off the train, I looked through the people at the station, and finally a familiar face. My body relaxed a little as I walked over to Kristen. My sister had worked with her at this camp, and she had visited California and stayed with us. I hugged her and immediately felt better.
She helped me get settled in to camp, but once it all started I branched out and made new friends. She was there for me throughout camp whenever I needed her, and was always down for a Starbucks run. We picked our days off accordingly so that we could hang out. She brought me to the most amazing sandwich place, that I dream about today. She made fun of my slang I used and always kept it real. She truly made my camp experience ten times better than what it would have been. I was so glad I got to spend the summer with her. As the summer came to an end, I knew I would have to say goodbye.
The last night of each session we would have a campfire on our beach. Each unit would sing and song and then the counselors would get up and make a tunnel with our hands up against each others. One unit at a time would come through and we would sing this as we swayed back and forth:
Mm, mm, I’d like to linger
Mm, mm, a little longer
Mm, mm, a little longer here with you
Mm, mm, its such a perfect night
Mm, mm, it doesn’t seem quite right
Mm, mm, that it should be my last with you
Mm, mm, and come December
Mm, mm, I will remember
Mm, mm, our campfire bright and friendships true
Mm, mm, and as the years go by
Mm, mm, I’ll think you and sigh
Mm, mm, this is goodnight and not goodbye
So as I said goodbye to all my fellow counselors, I kept that song in mind. Hugging Kristen goodbye was hard but I knew we would meet again. She is and will forever be my New York sister.
Key Lime Drop Cookies
Kristen has been sending me different recipes that she has found at different events in New York. I thought this would be the perfect recipe to try. It was originally for Lemon Drop cookies but the local market had a huge bag of Key Limes for $2. So I decided on that instead and I’m glad I did. They were gone within the first night. Perfect with tea. Sweat and sour just like my time in New York over the summer. Thank you for the recipe Kristen!
Ingredients:
1 C butter
1/2 C sugar
1/2 C brown sugar
1 egg
1 1/2 Tbsp. Key Lime Juice
1 tsp. Key Lime zest
2 and 1/2 C flour
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
Directions:
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. In large bowl cream butter, margarine, and sugars. Add egg, key lime juice, and zest. Mix well. In a separate bowl, sift flour, baking soda, and salt together. Add half of the flour mixture to the butter mixture and beat until smooth. Add another half and mix well. Drop by tablespoon onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake 10 to 12 minutes. Cool and serve.

One Comment to “Sweet and Sour(Key Lime Drop Cookies)”

  1. hi becca, i was browsing thru your website for some recipes and found this one. I love things lemony and lime. My husband is from Florida, so of course key limes are one of his favorite flavors. I will give these cookies a try and will sure to please him. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

